LL – How did we become friends?

Literary Lion.

“How did we become friends?”

Lina looked up from her computer and thought, before replying: “I really dunno. Maybe it was cause we shared similar interests?”

“Nope, it was cause you needed ice. I remember when I first moved into Block A. I knew no one, but you knew everyone. And out of everyone, you decided to knock my door to ask for ice.”

Lin laughed. “Oya! Your room was right opposite of mine!”

“Yeah, but you didn’t even know me.”

“And that’s how I got to know you. Everyone’s a stranger at first.”

Salia smiled. “I’m glad you knocked my door. You’re so different from what I imagined.”

Lin raised an eyebrow. “And how did you imagine me to be?”

“Well, snobby and lazy. You went clubbing all the time and wore so much make-up. I thought you were one of those stuck up girls, you know?”

“No, I don`t.” Lin replied, sticking out her tongue. “But I kinda do give out that aura. I thought you were those study-till-I-die kinda people.”

Salia got up from the bed and walked behind Lin’s chair, resting her hands on Lin’s shoulders.

“Whatcha doing?”

“Studying Biochem.”

“Distinction student.” Salia teased as her eyes registered the formulas on the screen in front of her.

“I don`t think anything`s planned.” Lin said. “People just become friends if they click. You can see a person for everyday in your life and not know a thing about them, or meet a person for just a few hours, and become closer than you were with anyone in your life. I know many people- they’re my acquaintances. But only a handful are precious. It’s how much we are able to talk to a person. To share with them and not feel weird. And to appreciate the silence shared without feeling uneasy. That’s how I think we became friends- we clicked.”

Salia buried her face in Lin`s hair. “You know, I count the hours until I get to talk to you again during class. I wait the whole day just to talk to you. You keep me going.”

Lin entangled her fingers in Salia’s. “You’re not precious. You’re irreplaceable.”

“Please, don’t die, kay? Cause I know I`ll never find another like you.”

“I don`t make promises I can`t keep. But hey, maybe I`ll need ice again, and in a different time in a different place, again we`ll meet.”

400 Words.

~~~~~~

I know I have a Physiology test tomorrow and I know I have to study, but I don`t want to become just a book-zombie. And I havn`t done Literary Lion in awhile, and I liked the topic(ice-ice-baby) 🙂 12/11/2015

About Riverstardust

~Hey there! Glad we found each other :) Comment-- tell me something about you no one knows!! ;)
This entry was posted in art, daily post, flash fiction, literary lion, literature, love, writing challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LL – How did we become friends?

  1. Pingback: Being P.P. | The Hempstead Man

  2. Great take on the prompt, I wish I’d thought of the idea myself!

    Like

~What`s your thought on this article? :)

