~Sweater Weather.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Always Something There to Remind Me.”

~Airports seem to be either always full, or empty. There was a no middle point to me. None at all. No balance. I checked my watch.

We were waiting to check in my bags. Only mine. Both my younger brothers were playing by the trolly beside me. Then, the older of my two brothers began humming a tune.

“Hey, I`ve heard of that song!”

“Yup, it`s Sweater Weather by The Neighbourhood.”

“Funny, dont think Ive heard of them before.” I replied. My parents were busy with the luggage-check-in lady. She was pretty, but the amount of make up she used to cake her face with made me frown. It`s like she was trying to hide her natural beauty or something with a mask of chemicals.

“Yeah, maybe they`re a new band?” He replied, as the younger of the two of them screamed at him for playing with his hair.

I smiled. I was going to miss them. But it was time- time for me to go out into the world to find out who I really was. And every time this song played, I thought of the time- the very first time I was going to leave my family for more than a week- a month even. And so, my adventure away from home began.

~21/7/15.

signature

About Riverstardust

~Hey there! Glad we found each other :) Comment-- tell me something about you no one knows!! ;)
Quote | This entry was posted in literature, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ~Sweater Weather.

  1. Arpita says:

    That’s a wonderful story! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. amanpan says:

    What a great story and feelings that I can relate to. We all have to move on, however, will always cherish our memories.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. googly says:

    Hello there! I just would like to offer you a big thumbs
    up for the excellent info you’ve got here on this post.
    I am returning to your web site for more soon.

    Liked by 2 people

~What`s your thought on this article? :)

