~Literary Lion – All I want is escape.

Literary Lion.

IMAG2427

“Relax your right hand.”

I did.

I lay on a metal plate, staring up at the plain bright ceiling.

“Remember when I was drunk, and vomiting, and how I wished I was dead?”

“Yes.”

“And remember that time when I had fever and diarrhea and all I did was cry? Thinking of ways to die?”

He moved his hands through my hair- his touch was calming.

“Yes.” He whispered.

“I`ve been thinking-”

“Lift your left leg.” he interrupted. I did.

He nodded, and I continued. “Humans are made to be that way. Self-centered, I mean. Only thinking of their pain, their suffering. There is a whole world out there. If I go away, or never existed, would anything have change?”Β He remained silent, and I could only hear the two of us breathing for awhile.

“Sit up.” I did. I straightened my skirt to hide my legs and unrolled my sleeves. He was done sewing up the cuts I made. It didn`t hurt when he sewed me- it never did.

“Maybe it would. The world isn`t that large, and with the internet, a person can be known world-wide within a day.” He told me this as he used his stethoscope on my back. I took deep breaths.

“I know were supposed to be special- unique." I replied when he was done. "But if all of us are unique, doesnt that make us normal? I mean, uniqueness is having something no one else has. If everyone has it, it`s as ordinary as snow during winter.”

“And yet every snow is made different.”

“Which makes them all the same.”

He signaled me to stand up. “You would have made a good – maybe even creating a new type of philosophy like dark philosophy, if you didn`t try killing yourself all the time.”

“Thanks for keeping it a secret.”

“As long as you don`t succeed.” He replied at the door, shaking my hand.

“Well, all I want is escape…”

Word count : 320

~~~26/06/2015~~~

signature

About Riverstardust

~Hey there! Glad we found each other :) Comment-- tell me something about you no one knows!! ;)
This entry was posted in flash fiction, literature, short stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ~Literary Lion – All I want is escape.

  1. Really haunting. I love the rapport between the two with the sinister undertone of what she is doing. Great piece of writing. Have a wonderful day πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. innatejames says:

    I agree with sayyourdailygrace. The rapport feels almost brother/sisterly. And the humor you added to the dark subject matter makes it feel more real.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I like the light hearted tone that you’ve created for something so sinister, just like a couple of others have said, it makes it much darker somehow. Thanks for replying to the prompt!

    Liked by 2 people

~What`s your thought on this article? :)

