~Nothing in life is free.

Daily Prompt – Dear Leader!

“Here, have one!”

“Um, thanks.” I smiled back at the cheerful girl who was handing out free bags with the word Wundertuete on them.

Leit stood beside me, a bag already in its hands. “I told you that some things in life are free.”

I just grunted as we walked towards a park bench and took a seat. Leit told me that the others saw him as an ordinary child – a boy of 16 years. He was not the only one of his kind here, but you only see their true form when they decide to show it to you. It didn`t bother me much. I watched enough TV to know when not to freak out.

I opened my bag and found tons of drinks in it– from energy drinks to fruit drinks. There was even a dish soap.

“What is this?” Leit asked, and I turned to him before turning red.

“Give me that!” I snatched the small square packet from him and dropped it into my bag, seeing that I had one exactly like it inside mine.

Leit just kept staring at me with his head to one side. “It`s… um… something only humans need.”

“I see. Most of the contents in this bag are consumables. Will it kill me if I consume it?”

My eyes widened. “Um, yeahhh.”

“You are telling the truth, but it does not feel right. Nevermind.”

He opened a free cookie from the bag and nibbled on it. I took mine out too to eat. There were also tons of coupons and brochures.

“See? They`re giving you free stuff to promote their stuff.”

“It does not change the fact that it is free.” Leit replied, smiling. The way he smiled was interesting. The middle of lips still touched, although the sides showed his teeth.

“You know, during our voting period back at home, Malaysia, our leaders bribe the citizens to vote for them by giving them free stuff as well. Sometimes they even get paid.”

“Is that not called corruption?”

I shrugged. “I wonder if it happens in Germany as well.” I was sent to study in Germany for they had very low fees. Leit never left me though- he would always be by my window at 12 AM. He could crawl exceptionally well, like a lizard. His hands had soft pads on them.

“If your government could accomplish one thing this year, what would you like it to be?” Leit asked as he sipped on Capri-Sonne juice.

“Remove GST. Stop corruption. Do something that benefits the citizens and the world.”

“That is quite a lot to ask.”

And I just shrugged.

572fd-untitled

About Riverstardust

~Hey there! Glad we found each other :) Comment-- tell me something about you no one knows!! ;)
This entry was posted in dailypost, literature, short stories, writing challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ~Nothing in life is free.

  1. Loving the information on this web site, you have done great job on the posts.

    Like

  2. You coսld definitгly see you skills within the article you write.
    The arena hopes for more psssionate writers like you who аren’t afraid to say ɦow thewy beliеve.
    Alwɑys ggo aftesr your heart.

    Like

  3. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with some pics to drive
    the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is
    magnificent blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

    Like

  4. Highly energetic blog, I liked that a lot. Will there be a part 2?

    Like

~What`s your thought on this article? :)

