~Everyone wants to be remembered.

Todays prompt- Worldly Encounters.

It sat on my balcony railing, like it did every night. And I wondered how it kept its balance, like I did every night.

“Good morning.” I wished it. It did not turn around to face me. Its marble like eyes continued watching the sparkling stars.

“Good morning. Youre here a little earlier today-- its only 1 AM your time.”

I sighed. “I have the writers block.”

“Um, why do people write?”

I leaned on the railing beside the dark silhouette, my coffee mug warming my hands. “Well, I guess I write so that I don`t forget. Lots of people write for the pleasure of writing. There are some who write in hopes of becoming popular and going down in history books.”

“Why is it so important to humans?”

I looked at it. It fluttered its gigantic ears and flicked its tongue around its fangs. When I realized that there was going to be no more continuation to the question, I asked “Why is what so important?”

“Um, why is it so important to be remembered? Why do so many of you set what they do on hoping for their names to be in books and be spoken of, even after they are along gone?”

I turned my vision to the world – the night was quiet and the breeze was cold. It felt calming. “Hmm. Good question. Youre right, I guess. In the end, theres only oblivion.”

It turned its gaze to me. “Do you think you`re too pessimistic for this world?” It asked.

Funny question to be asked from such a funny creature. I smiled. “Maybe this world is just too pessimistic for me.”

“Or maybe it is just that way, because you created it to be. All you people, in your own little world-bubbles, with your own little set of rules. And Earth as a platform with its own rules as well. You play by the rules of the game, and you create your own rules along the way.”

I shrugged. “Or maybe, just maybe, all of this is just a dream.”

“A very vivid one, then.”

“Indeed.”

About Riverstardust

~Hey there! Glad we found each other :) Comment-- tell me something about you no one knows!! ;)
This entry was posted in daily prompt, dailypost, literature, short stories, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ~Everyone wants to be remembered.

  1. Jennifer says:

    Beautifully written! I love the answer you give for why humans write.

    Like

  2. Romina B says:

    Quote: I smiled. “Maybe this world is just too pessimistic for me.”
    I love that line. I can relate to your post, especially the part about writer’s block. Thank you for sharing. I’m a new follower! Feel free to check out my blog as well.

    – Romina @ http://www.dietyogaenergy.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! I LOVE THIS! Sure going to start following you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Morningstar says:

    The orld i too pessimistic for me – what a perfect line! I understand that very well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Morningstar says:

    Sorry about the typos there – only using the light from the screen. “The world is too pessimistic for me” is what I meant of course.

    Liked by 1 person

~What`s your thought on this article? :)

