A trip to Kassel, home of The Grimm Brothers- Day one

~Selfies all around Kassel with Rumi-akka

~Selfies all around Kassel with Rumi-akka

~People of the net– I am once again here, to wish all of you hello and tell you how my trip to Kassel went!! 😀 From the moment I stepped in the train at 4pm, I knew it was going to be an awesome journey! The train ride was five– okay, four hours and fifty nine minutes long. I got on the train and there was no place for me to park my butt on. No worries. I stood for a few stops, and when we reached Kassel, a couple of people got off, and I managed to get a seat to sit on. The train traveled on to Duisburg. I got off at Duisburg Hbf and had to take a train heading to Hamm(Westf). Here`s where it got interesting.

~As I stood at the Platform, waiting for the train, I watched four kids in front of me, talking with their mother. Two were girls, and two were boys. The mother was beautiful, and I enjoyed watching her talk to them so calmly. It`s fun at times– watching people and how they behave. Eventually, the train arrived. It was delayed by ten minutes. When we entered, hell ensued. The train was so packed that we had to stand at the entrance inside the train. I was pushed to the middle of the entrance– no bars or handles to grab onto. Worse part was that I needed to use the toilet to tinkle ._.

IMAG2150

~The sweet wrappers inside the beer bottles were added by the little boy xD they were so adorable!!

~The mother with the kids were squashed in the same area I was in. She smiled as her kid asked her a question and replied, then adding that she`d never seen such a condition with so many people before. A Chinese guy to her side said to her(I was standing facing her; she was in front of me) that this condition was ordinary– even not as bad– as it was in China back when he was home. They spoke in German, naturally.

~We eventually reached a stop where many people got off at. I used the toilet, then continued standing outside the toilet door(it was still too crowded to find a seat). The mother and her children were out of sight. The train arrived at Hamm(Westf) and I got off. Went to take the next train heading to Kassel-Wilhelmshoehe. In that train, I managed to find myself a seat(Finally!) That`s when I heard children voices and turned around to find the mother with the kids entering. The train was pretty full and only two out of the five of them got a place to sit. The mother stood behind my seat. I had a bag and was too tired to offer my seat, and she`d already left her bags with her kids. I felt bad for not offering my seat, but I was too tired.

~After around two stops, the train cleared and the mother sat right in front of me. She then asked me in German if I was the girl in the Duisburg train earlier. I said yes, then asked her if her two sons were “Zwillinge” and she replied yup. We talked for awhile and I found out that she was heading to Paderborn with her children to visit her mother for the weekend. She offered me a sweet from a Tupperware filled with sweets. One of the twins collected the sweets in his pocket. Maybe his name was Joshua. She then proceeded to playing with her son a game of guessing the length, height, and width of animals on game-cards. Eventually, she left, and I said good-bye. People come, people go.

~Me and akka eating pancakes for supper

~Me and akka eating pancakes for supper

~I met Rumitha-akka(I`ll shorten it to just `Akka` as I type, which means `older sister` in Tamil) at around nine something at Kassel-Wilhelmshoehe. My whole trip from Geilenkirchen to Kassel costed me only around 11Euros!(Ohne ICE) Bless NRW semester ticket! Anyway, I was so happy to meet Akka! I hugged her and we chatted, then took a bus to her place. Akka`s place(an apartment room) was super beautiful! She had her own kitchen in her room(with Microwave and Oven, etc.) and shared the bathroom/toilet with another room. OWN KITCHEN!! BAKING!! 😀 Akka made for me Pancakes for Supper. Had them with honey and banana and chocolate spread 😛 Then we went to sleep.

Day 1

SONY DSC~The next day(Thursday) we woke up at around nine and had our breakfast(pancakes again!!) After that, we decided to head to the UNESCO site in Kassel. It`s the Bergpark Wilhemshoehe. Rumi akka hasn`t gone there before cause she`s only been in Kassel for a month, and each weekend she`s been traveling to other regions outside of Kassel. Only she and Riyaz anne are in Kassel– as far as I know.

~Bus ride to die Loewenburg(a Castle)

~Bus ride to die Loewenburg(a Castle)

~We took a bus to a really weird bus-stop. I needed to go to the toilet by the time we reached, and bless the lord there was a workers toilet right beside the bus stop. A old man came out of it, smiling. I went in, and let me tell you– I`ve never been to such a toilet in my life. It was so small and dirty .-. Once I relieved myself, me and Rumi-akka used GPS to find our way. At one point, it started to rain and we thought we were lost. Opened Rumi-akka`s really pink umbrella. Then, we wanted to turn back. But decided against it cause we saw two people dressed for hiking(not the way we were dressed xD) staring at a sign. When they moved away from the sign, we went to look at it. Said Löwenburg was close by. Not giving up now!!

~Me standing somewhere around Loewenburg

~Me standing somewhere around Loewenburg

~Eventually we reached– no regrets! It was beautiful! And the rain decided to stop as we reached 😀 The castle itself was quite small(apparently it was used by the King(I think) to keep his concubines :/ We explored the castle for a bit before deciding to continue our journey. Here`s a couple of photos or our trip(pictures say a thousand words, right?)

~Me staring at the model of die Loewenburg

~Me staring at the model of die Loewenburg

SONY DSC

IMAG2183 (1) IMAG2190

~A vending-machine inside the castle xD

~A vending-machine inside the castle xD

~This umbrella became our favourite thing to use when catching photos-- makes the photo stand out xD

~This umbrella became our favourite thing to use when catching photos– makes the photo stand out xD

IMAG2223

IMAG2236

IMAG2241

~Rumi-akka holding the pink umbrella. It was so crowded cause it was a public hol! The way to the castle was deserted, but at attraction spots, it was crowded.

~Rumi-akka holding the pink umbrella. It was so crowded cause it was a public hol! The way to the castle was deserted, but at attraction spots, it was crowded.

IMAG2248

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC

~two cute little ducks

~two cute little ducks

IMAG2279

~We came just in time to see the waterfall start!! Brown water flowed out first, then normal coloured water. It was raining(duh! Umbrellas up!)

IMAG2281 IMAG2282

IMAG2291 IMAG2293 IMAG2302 IMAG2304 IMAG2316_1

IMAG2317_1

 

 

~two friendly old men talked to us, and I was watching them as they leave

~two friendly old men talked to us, and I was watching them as they leave

SONY DSC

~After our trip, we took a bus to Kassel Hbh and ate at an Asian(I think it was Chinese) shop. The food was too oily and there wasn`t any fish dishes :/ After eating there, we went back. Now, cooking time!! 😀 Rumi akka promised Riyaz-anne that she`d make Nasi Lemak, and that`s how I learned to make yummy nasi lemak!! 😀 Okay, so here`s what I learned:

~First, add rice. Then, add the appropriate amount of water that is needed for the rice. Replace one cup of the needed water with coconut milk. We didn`t use Pandan leaves cause we didn`t have it. Then, boil eggs(two eggs per person is what Akka did– 6 eggs) After boiling the eggs, peel them. Then, you can add oil to a pan and roll the eggs around the heated pan for awhile to make the skin brown. For the “sambal”, Akka added “Real Thailand” sauce and a couple of tomatoes into a pot. Added some salt too and tomato sauce. To make it spicy, add chili powder. Keep stirring till mixed. Once mixed, add in eggs. For cucumbers, first, skin them. Then, use a fork and drag it from one end of the cucumber to the other end. Cut cucumber into thin slices. They`ll look like restaurant cucumbers.

PhotoGrid_1399672587526

~Anne said he`d come at seven, but, never failing to follow Malaysian timing, came at eight. Us malaysians are awesome that way. Anyway, the food was awesome and atmosphere was nice. Then, we watched a movie called The Incredible Burt Wonderstone. It wasn`t a bad movie. Not too funny though. Anne left at around twelve. Me and Akka went to sleep after that.

~I`ll continue day two another time 🙂 Toodles!! ❤

About Riverstardust

~Hey there! Glad we found each other :) Comment-- tell me something about you no one knows!! ;)
Aside | This entry was posted in diary, life, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

~What`s your thought on this article? :)

