Easy to make no-bake strawberry oatmeal cake- five Ingredients

~Hello people of the Internet!! I`m going to Kassel today to meet Rumitha-akka (`akka` means `older sister` in Tamil) and spend around four to five days with her! Since tomorrow is Labor Day(HAPPY LABOR DAY in advance!!) and the next day(Friday) I have no classes, I decided to go explore Kassel! Any suggestions on where I should visit while touring Kassel? I`m planning to go to the Grimm`s Museum(I love Brothers Grimm!!) and Akka said that we could visit the castle there and `lepak`(I literally have no idea what this word is in English. Maybe it`s `hang out`?) in the park too! I`m so excited!!

~Two days ago I was trying to study Physiks(that`s how Physics is spelled in German– no joke) when I decided I should take a break from all that “studying”. Since my oven tray is crappy and broken, I googled for non-bake recipes, and found this recipe! The recipe was for chocolate cookies, but mine turned out to be a cake xD I posted the link to the original recipe further down. Here`s how I made the no-bake strawberry oatmeal cake:

Image

Ingredients:

  1. 2 cups(500mL) sugar.
  2. 3 cups Oatmeal.
  3. 1/2 cup strawberry powder(you can substitute it with cocoa powder if you don`t like strawberry).
  4. 1 cup milk.
  5. 1/2 cup butter(I used margarine).

Instructions:

  1. Lay out a sheet of wax paper on a plate and leave it in the fridge to cool.
  2. Mix the sugar, butter, milk and strawberry powder together. Combine them in a saucepan and heat them using medium heat. Stir till butter melts.
  3. Allow the ingredients to reach to a boil, but do not raise the heat from medium. When it begins to boil(bubbles form), remove it from the stove.
  4. Immediately add in the oatmeal and stir. Stir till there are no dry, white oats remaining.
  5. Now, you can either use a spoon and scoop large dollops onto the wax paper if you want to make cookies. If you want to make a cake, spread the `dough` on the wax paper. If cupcakes, then add the dough into the cupcake paper.
  6. Store in the fridge for around an hour, or freezer for around thirty minutes.
  7. Serve!
Image

~Mix till butter melts

Image

Image

~Riya was cooking beside me

Image

Image

~I adapted this recipe from here. Initially, I planned on making cookies, but added one whole cup of margarine instead of half a cup as recommended… My mixture was too liquidy, and apparently margarine doesn`t evaporate easily, so I decided to make a cake instead. Two cakes actually, since I had tons of `dough`. I`ll rate this recipe 8,3/10. I really liked the taste of it, and so did Moksha, Riya and FuJie (Peeps who ate it with me). It was a little too sweet though, so you might want to reduce the amount of sugar you use. I still have a whole cake left… Anyone want some? 😛

~The cake doesn`t look too presentable, but never judge a book by its cover! I sent a photo of it to my cousins in our Whatsapp group, and one of them(we call him BBoy, or Rat) commented, and I quote, “It looks like strawberries on puke ._. ” Nil, another cousin in that group, said in a sarcastic typing tone, that I think that I`m a big time baker now, and that I don`t bake for them cause I only bake for celeb weddings…. Told them I`d bake for them when I return to Msia 😀 Sham,  said “Thats so nice”. Only positive comment that came from the entire group! That`s why I love cousins! xD I`ll bring some to Rumitha-akka when I visit her as well 😀

IMAG2091

~Random photo of the turkey curry I made

Image

~My Easter presents! The big bar of chocolate was from Nika and the choco-lolli was from my class teacher! I received two more choco bars from Moksha and Riya, but ate them before taking a pic ._.

Image

~Nika`s present– unwrapped!!

~Man, I wanted this blog to be about everything– not just baking! But that`s the way it seems to be going. I guess it`s cause I`m too busy(or lazy, depending on your perspective) to write about my life. I can`t store recipes on books or papers though– not unless I want to lose them… I`m too fond of misplacing my items. I remember back in school, when my friend suggested that scientists should make little chips we could stick on our items. Then, we could use a remote to locate our items if we lose them(somewhat like GPS). I told her that I`d probably lose the remote too!

Image

~selfie of me enjoying the strawberry on the cake– I was supposed to be studying, but took selfies and was eating instead…

Image

~Okay, so Riya became my study partner to help me concentrate– didn`t go too well for studying`s sake, but we did manage to solve a question!

~I`ll have to go pack my bag for the five and a half hour journey to Kassel– see you later, alligator! (Yeah– I just watched Eat, Pray, Love a few days back) hehe. Toodles!

 30/4/2014 – Wednesday.

About Riverstardust

~Hey there! Glad we found each other :) Comment-- tell me something about you no one knows!! ;)
This entry was posted in cake, food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Easy to make no-bake strawberry oatmeal cake- five Ingredients

  1. Thu Trà says:

    So sweet, “Master Chef” Resna!!!!

    Like

  2. Wayy cool! Somе very valid poіnts! I appreciawte yоu penning tɦiѕ post ρlus tҺe rest of tthe sitte іs
    reаlly good.

    Like

  3. Just what is even more, you must not wind up putting
    on much more weight within just a few months after you
    have actually completed it!

    Like

  4. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers
    and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You
    have done a marvellous job!

    Like

~What`s your thought on this article? :)

